Information for municipalities

RADar! for municipalities

RADar! offers municipalities a uniform, affordable platform for reporting issues with cycling infrastructure and suggesting improvements. Since 2017, the platform has also been available worldwide! Municipalities participating in the CITY CYCLING campaign by Climate Alliance are able to use the tool for free during the 21-day local campaign period.

Citizen participation with RADar!

Municipalities are able to invite their citizens to proactively suggest improvements to the local cycling infrastructure. They can also use RADar! as a complement to their standard road checks as the authority responsible for roads to help set priorities. Responsibility for checking the cycling infrastructure can be passed on (at least in part) to those who cycle every day and are therefore probably the most familiar with the infrastructure and know where improvements are urgently needed.


As a municipality, you are able to take advantage of the “swarm intelligence” of your cycling population – to the benefit of all!

Communication made easy!

Municipalities can view, process and, where appropriate, contact citizens who have submitted a report. The local coordinators can ask questions about the reports submitted or even simply thank cyclists for their reports. Given that only registered participants are able to submit notifications, the process is not anonymous. This helps to keep ‘hoax’ reports to a minimum.

When a cyclist submits a report, email notification will automatically be sent to the responsible municipality. And the cyclist who submitted the report in turn also receives confirmation of this. Cyclists are always kept up to date on the status of the report(s) they have submitted: whenever the processing status is changed (e.g. to “In progress”), RADar! will automatically send notification to the cyclist who submitted the report.

Municipalities are also able to create their own notifications in order to use RADar! as an information portal for (planned) cycling measures and to inform local citizens of the latest progress in sustainable mobility.

Do you want the responsible authority in your municipality to automatically be informed of a specific type of report? With RADar!, this is absolutely no problem! Please see below for an overview of the main features of RADar!

Countless options for municipalities!
Municipalities are able to decide for themselves how long cyclists can submit reports.

Whether only in the summer months or all year round, the reporting period can be adjusted to the resources available to the municipality. In the first year of using RADar!, it is possible to “test” RADar!’s reception among cyclists for a shorter period and how the report management, etc. works. RADar! can then be rolled out in full in the following year and the reporting platform potentially offered to citizens for the entire year.

Municipalities are moreover free to decide if and which reports with which processing status are publicly visible on the street map.

The key features in overview

Report visibility: decide which reports should be publicly visible on the map according to their processing status (see pins on the right here).

Report prioritisation using urgency trackers (only possible if reports are publicly visible): cyclists are able to confirm existing reports if they wish to draw attention to the same problem so that these can be dealt with first.

“Positive” reports – the ‘Like’ button in RADar! – to show municipalities and others that cyclists want to have/see more of something: municipalities can be praised and other municipalities are able to review cyclists’ reactions to measures for their own planning.

Neutral reports:
all reports that have not yet been addressed can be marked with a neutral white pin.

Report comments: post public comments for each report (only visible if the report itself is also publicly visible), e.g. a reason why a particular report cannot be addressed.

Merge several reports for one and the same problem in the same place.

Assign responsibility: get reports automatically forwarded directly to the place/person ultimately responsible for addressing them or responsibilities can be assigned in advance so that the responsible place/person in the municipality automatically receives email notification as soon as a report is submitted for the according area of responsibility.

Different user profiles: local coordinators are able to create new users with different access and editing rights.

Report management: the ‘history’/processing status provides information to track what is happening with the report: who was informed when, when the status was changed, etc.

Order reports by short, medium or long-term issues: while glass can rapidly be removed from a cycle path, it will take longer to find a suitable solution for a dangerous major crossroad.

Email (templates) sent to cyclists automatically by the system when a report is submitted or the processing status is changed. The texts of these email templates can be altered to suit and complemented with a personal signature.

Filter function to sort reports according to specific criteria.

Export function to obtain reports in an Excel format.

PLEASE NOTE:
If your municipality has decided to offer RADar!, please ensure that you take cyclists’ reports seriously and react to or process these as soon as possible. Be sure to plan in the according resources! You run the risk of achieving exactly the opposite of what you are aiming at with the reporting platform otherwise: cyclists may feel that they aren’t being listened to and frustration could arise if they get the impression that their reports are not being dealt with and their efforts appear to be in vain.

RADar! for rural districts/regions

If a rural district/region wishes to use the RADar! reporting platform, they are able to decide whether to enable reports either for the entire rural district/region or for individual towns/communities in the rural district/region. Cyclists can then either submit reports for the entire rural district/region or exclusively for their town/community.

If a rural district/region decides to activate RADar! for individual rural districts/regions, a 10% discount will be offered from ten towns/communities.

Use RADar! for free

All municipalities participating in the CITY CYCLING campaign are able to use RADar! for free during the three-week campaign period. Citizens can submit reports via RADar! during the 21-day CITY CYCLING campaign period between 1 May and 30 September. The local RADar! coordinators are able to access and process the reports for one year from the first day of the CITY CYCLING campaign in the municipality.

Informationen für Kommunen

RADar! für Kommunen

Mit RADar! steht erstmals allen Kommunen eine einheitliche und kostengünstige Meldeplattform zur Verfügung – und das seit 2017 weltweit! Beteiligen sich Kommunen an der Klima-Bündnis-Kampagne STADTRADELN, ist die Nutzung während des lokalen Aktionszeitraums sogar kostenfrei!

Bürgerbeteiligung dank RADar!

Kommunen können ihre Bevölkerung einladen, infrastrukturelle Verbesserungsmaßnahmen aktiv vorzuschlagen. Zudem können sie (mindestens) ergänzend zur eigenen Straßenüberprüfung RADar! zur verbesserten Schwerpunktsetzung als Straßenbaulastträger einsetzen. Die Kontrolle der Radinfrastruktur wird somit (in Teilen) in die Hände der RadlerInnen gelegt, die tagtäglich die Infrastruktur nutzen, sich daher bestens mit der Materie auskennen und genau wissen, wo der „Schuh drückt“.

Nutzen Sie als Kommune die „Schwarmintelligenz“ Ihrer radelnden Bevölkerung zum Vorteil aller!

Kommunikation leichtgemacht!

Kommunen können alle Meldungen einsehen, bearbeiten und ggf. mit BürgerInnen in Kontakt treten, die eine Meldung getätigt haben. Die lokale Koordination kann bei Bedarf zu einer Meldung nachfragen oder der meldenden Person ein einfaches Dankeschön übermitteln. Da Meldungen ausschließlich registrierte NutzerInnen abgeben können, sind diese nicht anonym. „Scherz-Meldungen“ sollten daher nahezu ausgeschlossen sein.

Wird eine Meldung abgegeben, erhält die zuständige Kommune automatisch eine E-Mail-Benachrichtigung, der/die MelderIn eine Bestätigung darüber. Die meldende Person wird stets auf dem Laufenden gehalten, was mit der abgegebenen Meldung passiert: Wann immer der Bearbeitungsstatus geändert wird (z. B. auf „in Bearbeitung“ gesetzt), sendet RADar! automatisch einen entsprechenden Hinweis an den/die MelderIn.

Überdies können Kommunen selbst Meldungen anlegen, um RADar! als Informationsportal für (geplante) Maßnahmen im Radverkehr auszuschöpfen und ihrer Bevölkerung mitzuteilen, was in Sachen nachhaltiger Mobilität geschieht.

Ist gewünscht, dass über einen bestimmten Meldungsgrund automatisch die dafür zuständige Stelle Ihrer Kommune informiert wird?
Mit RADar! ist das kein Problem! Eine Übersicht der wichtigsten Funktionen finden Sie weiter unten.

Freie Auswahl für Kommunen!
Kommunen können selbst entscheiden, wie lange der Meldezeitraum, in dem Meldungen von RadlerInnen abgegeben werden können, sein soll.

Ob in den Sommermonaten oder ganzjährig, je nach Kapazität ist der Meldezeitraum anpassbar. Im ersten RADar!-Jahr kann z. B. über einen kürzeren Zeitraum „angetestet“ werden, wie RADar! von den RadlerInnen angenommen wird und wie die Meldungsverwaltung etc. funktioniert. Im Jahr darauf kann es dann in die Vollen gehen und die Meldeplattform ggf. über das ganze Jahr den BürgerInnen angeboten werden.

Ob bzw. welche Meldungen mit welchem Bearbeitungsstatus auf der öffentlich einsehbaren Straßenkarte sichtbar sind, lässt sich ebenfalls frei entscheiden.

Die wichtigsten Funktionen im Überblick

Sichtbarkeit der Meldungen: frei wählbar, welche Meldungen/Pins anhand ihrer Bearbeitungsstatus (siehe Pins rechts) öffentlich einsehbar sind

Priorisierung von Meldungen durch Zähler für Dringlichkeit (nur möglich, wenn Meldungen öffentlich einsehbar sind): RadlerInnen können bereits abgegebene Meldungen bestätigen, wenn auch sie auf dasselbe Problem hinweisen möchten

„positive“ Meldungen möglich – der Like-Button beim RADar! – um Kommune und anderen anzuzeigen, dass man sich als RadlerIn hier gut aufgehoben fühlt und mehr davon sehen möchte: ein Lob für die Kommune kann ausgesprochen werden und auch andere Kommunen können für die eigene Planung schauen, was wo und wie gut von den RadlerInnen aufgenommen wird

neutrale Meldungen:
all jene Meldungen, die de facto nicht umzusetzen sind, können mit einem neutralen weißen Pin markiert werden

Kommentierung von Meldungen: für jede Meldung kann vonseiten der Kommune ein öffentlich einsehbarer Kommentar verfasst werden (nur sichtbar, wenn auch Meldungen als solche öffentlich einsehbar sind), z. B. mit einer Begründung, warum diese Meldung nicht angegangen werden kann

Zusammenlegung mehrerer Meldungen, die für ein und dasselbe Problem am selben Standort abgegeben wurden

Zuordnung von Zuständigkeiten: Meldungen können direkt an die letztlich auszuführende Stelle weitergeleitet oder vorab Zuständigkeiten zugeteilt werden, sodass die in der Kommune verantwortlichen Personen eine E-Mail-Benachrichtigung erhalten, sobald eine Meldung für den Zuständigkeitsbereich abgegeben wurde

unterschiedliche Benutzerprofile: KoordinatorInnen der Kommunen können selbständig neue NutzerInnen mit verschiedenen Zugriffs- bzw. Bearbeitungsrechten anlegen

Meldungsmanagement: übere eine „Historie“ bzw. den Bearbeitungsverlauf einer Meldung ist nachvollziehbar, was mit der Meldung wann geschehen ist: Wann wurde wer informiert, wann der Status auf „in Bearbeitung“ gesetzt etc.

Zeitliche Kategorisierung von Meldungen in kurz-, mittel- und langfristig, denn die Meldung von Scherben auf dem Radweg lässt sich schneller beheben als einen Gefahrenschwerpunkt einer Hauptkreuzung zu entschärfen

Automatische E-Mail(-Vorlagen), die vom System an die RadlerInnen verschickt werden, wenn Meldung abgegeben oder deren Bearbeitungsstatus geändert wird, sind textlich anpassbar und können mit eigener Signatur ergänzt werden

Exportfunktion der Meldungen in Excel-Format

BITTE BEACHTEN:
Wenn sich Ihre Kommune entschieden hat RADar! anzubieten, so sollten Sie die Meldungen Ihrer RadlerInnen ernst nehmen und möglichst zeitnah darauf reagieren bzw. die Meldungen abarbeiten. Planen Sie demnach entsprechende Ressourcen ein! Ansonsten laufen Sie Gefahr genau das Gegenteil vom eigentlichen Sinn und Zweck der Meldeplattform zu erreichen: Die RadlerInnen fühlen sich nicht gehört und es kommt Frustration auf, wenn der Eindruck entsteht, dass nichts mit den Meldungen geschieht und die Bemühungen der RadlerInnen vermeintlich vergebens waren.

RADar! für Landkreise/Regionen

Möchte ein Landkreis/Region RADar! nutzen, so kann entschieden werden, ob Meldungen entweder für den gesamten Landkreis/Region oder für einzelne (bis alle) dem Landkreis/Region zugehörigen Städte/Gemeinden möglich sein sollen. RadlerInnen können dementsprechend entweder Meldungen innerhalb des kompletten Landkreises/Region oder ausschließlich für ihre Stadt/Gemeinde abgeben.

Entscheidet sich ein Landkreis/Region RADar! für zugehörige Städte/Gemeinden einzeln freizuschalten, so gibt es ab 10 Städten/Gemeinden einen Rabatt von 10 %.

RADar! kostenfrei nutzen

Für alle Kommunen, die an der Radverkehrskampagne STADTRADELN teilnehmen, ist die Nutzung von RADar! für drei Wochen kostenfrei. Während des zwischen 1. Mai und 30. September frei wählbaren 21-tägigen STADTRADELN-Aktionszeitraums können BürgerInnen Meldungen über RADar! abgeben. Der Zugang und die Bearbeitung der Meldung ist für die lokalen RADar!-KoordinatorInnen ein Jahr ab dem ersten STADTRADELN-Tag in der Kommune möglich.